Job 30

Kal’Hyah

It has been many years since I’ve watched Star Trek the Next Generation, but the memories of Worf and the Klingon warriors is still pretty vivid. I think because it is in such stark contrast to the world in which I live, a world full of gray areas, of cowardice, situational ethics, and increasing loss of rights due to governmental intrusion. However, I don’t think I’d trade my world for theirs. It was after-all rather brutal.

What brought the Klingons to mind was the anguish of Job; the trials and tests that he was enduring.

My heart is troubled and restless. Days of affliction have come upon me. – Job 30:27

Job has experienced six different trials.

Deprivation – He lost everything

“Your oxen were plowing, with the donkeys feeding beside them, when the Sabeans raided us. They stole all the animals and killed all the farmhands. I am the only one who escaped to tell you.”

While he was still speaking, another messenger arrived with this news: “The fire of God has fallen from heaven and burned up your sheep and all the shepherds. I am the only one who escaped to tell you.”

While he was still speaking, a third messenger arrived with this news: “Three bands of Chaldean raiders have stolen your camels and killed your servants. I am the only one who escaped to tell you.” – Job 1:14-17

Blood – His family was destroyed

While he was still speaking, another messenger arrived with this news: “Your sons and daughters were feasting in their oldest brother’s home. Suddenly, a powerful wind swept in from the desert and hit the house on all sides. The house collapsed, and all your children are dead. I am the only one who escaped to tell you.” – Job 1:18-19

Anguish – He was in mental agony of losing everything and everyone

Job stood up and tore his robe in grief. Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground before God. – Job 1:20

Pain – He was now mentally and physically in anguish

So Satan left the LORD’s presence, and he struck Job with a terrible case of boils from head to foot. Then Job scraped his skin with a piece of broken pottery as he sat among the ashes. – Job 2:7-8

Sacrifice – Despite the circumstances he worshiped, sacrificed

Job stood up and tore his robe in grief. Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground before God. He said,
“I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be stripped of everything when I die. The LORD gave me everything I had, and the LORD has taken it away. Praise the name of the LORD!”
In all of this, Job did not sin by blaming God. – Job 1:20-22

Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him. Even so, I will defend my own ways before Him. – Job 13:15

Death – He knew the path he was on

And I know that you are sending me to my death—the destination of all who live. – Job 30:23

Perhaps Job understood the path of the warrior better than we do.

From the Star Trek Encyclopedia.

Kal’Hyah

A mental and spiritual journey that a Klingon man and his friends traditionally share during the last four nights before his wedding.  The ritual was made up of six trials: deprivation, blood, pain, sacrifice, anguish, and death.

Job experienced the journey with his friends. Unfortunately as I’ve seen, they were not there to share in it. Instead they made the journey more difficult.

Father, when my friends must undergo a trial, may I go with them rather than throw rocks from the sidelines. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

R’uustai – Jan

Leave a comment